Home (2022) version 2 Forums Getting Started with the Harp Harp Q&A: Getting to know you Reply To: Harp Q&A: Getting to know you

• Tiffany Schaefer

13 March, 2021 at 7:25 pm

Hi Judiann, nice to meet you! Here are my answers:

1. What made you decide to start playing the harp?

I was 22, had a new job, and was poking around ebay to see if by chance anyone had a lute for sale. I love English Renaissance music thanks to my mom. I saw a little harp instead and on impulse I bought it since I liked Celtic music too! That side is more from my dad. 🙂

2. What is your favorite style or genre of harp music?

Celtic, Celtic and more Celtic. I love the styles of Grainne Hambly, Sue Richards, etc. Really soon after I started playing I got involved in our local Scottish Games, got hooked on Scottish music and the people there. After helping to run our harp competition for several years, this year I became the sole harp chair for our Games committee. (But we’re not having a comp. due to the pandemic…so I get an extra year to prepare!!)

3. What are your harp-related goals for 2021?

A) I’ve started doing zoom harp workshops last Fall, and have more taking shape for this year. When the craziness is over I would love to do some more in person.

B) Right now I’m really obsessed with session playing and I want to continue to get better at it and help other people get better at it.

C) Get back into performing in person – this time with friends!

D) Arrange a program for the US Scottish Harp Nationals which will hopefully, FINALLY take place in Ohio again in 2022, since 2020 and 2021 didn’t pan out! (Why didn’t I just compete in 2019?? Sigh. It’s been a goal for years and at this point I just want it off my bucket list so I can stop thinking about it, haha.)

4. What do you enjoy most about playing the harp?