• Posted by Margaret Durack on 6 May, 2021 at 5:20 am

Hi Everyone,

Not sure if anyone else is in this situation. When tuning a harp, does it matter if your electric tuner is set to 440Hz or 442Hz? Can this be changed from harp to harp without damaging it?

As you may have noticed I’m new to the harp. I purchased a Salvi Titan. It wasn’t until its arrival I found information stating it was tuned to 442Hz. My understanding is harps made in the USA use 440Hz. Can I use that setting when I tune my harp or will it damage it? Is there really a difference? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Cheers😀,

Margaret

Margaret Durack replied 2 years, 10 months ago 5 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • Venessa Hart

6 May, 2021 at 5:34 am

Margaret, that is interesting! I have to find out why they tune to442 Hz. There are many articles about music being played at different Hz can be more peaceful and relaxing. I myself played dulcimer at 444 Hz. for years because it was recommended to me to try it. So I did.

Happy Harping,

Nessa

• Candace C.

7 May, 2021 at 5:20 am

I heard the Boston Symphony Orchestra tunes at 444hz. Can this put too much tension on the harps?

• Claire Lécuyer

9 May, 2021 at 6:55 pm

I think it can be fine, because 2 hz is a very small difference (less than a quarter tone I think), but I personally don’t see the interest, unless you want to play with them 😎

• Margaret Durack

7 May, 2021 at 6:27 am

I was wondering if I could decrease to 440Hz so I would be tuned the same as other harps.(ex. Christy-Lyn) So much to learn about harps 😄

Margaret

• Claire Lécuyer

9 May, 2021 at 6:52 pm